Tue 13 th Aug 2024 |
Roger’s fascinating and detailed story covered the families
and industries behind the Primrose Cottage at the end of Moor
Street, Chorley. The house was demolished to make way for
Primrose Gardens Care Home on Fleet Street which is where
Chorley Historical Society used to meet. John decided to write
down his memories during the ‘lock-down’ periods of 2020 and
document his memories of Primrose Cottage when he worked there
in the early 1960s.
|

Roger Bleasdale |
The story starts in 1816 when John Whittle and Jane Parker were
married. John was 18 and Jane 16. He worked for his
grandfather’s timber business and did well. John & Jane had 9
children as the family thrived. The discovery of coal in the
area in 1837 meant the business diversified and bids for 3 pits
in the area were successful including Duxbury & Yarrow. John
decided to build a house on land at the end of Moor Street and
firstly they dug a well to find water in 1840 then work began to
build the house. By 1843 they moved in and in those days it was
the last house out of Chorley with clear views towards Coppull.
The building material was gritstone from Hill Top Quarry Whittle
and roof slates from Delph Quarry Wheelton. The name Primrose
Cottage comes from Queen Victoria’s love of the Primrose. John
died in 1850 and his eldest son Thomas took over the family
business. |

Primrose Cottage in later years. |

1843 datestone. |

Utility furniture. |

The site of Primrose Cottage is
now Primrose Gardens. |
More acquisitions were made including Low Mill Print Works in
Whittle. Thomas Whittle served as Mayor of Chorley from 1884 -
1885. Thomas’s son Humphrey Norris Whittle became Mayor of
Chorley from 1896 - 1897 and also gave land for Chorley’s first
Public Library on Avondale Road. Before the First World War
Primrose Cottage was no longer the family home and was used for
rent. After the war around 1920 it was used for ex soliers and
sailors. The Empire Club moved in during the 1930 and an
extension was added. Later the property was used as a business
for Bleasdales’ Bedding and Upholstery. The owner Walter
Bleasdale was Mayor of Chorley from 1968 - 1969. Roger, our
speaker, began work there in the early 1960s when the company
specialised in refurbishing furniture and also utility
furniture. In 1981 Bleasdales closed and the site deteriorated.
All traces of Primrose Cottage have gone, even the 1843
datestone from the apex. Apparently the entrance gate pillars
were sold and used in a house refurbishment. Thanks to Roger
for a fascinating insight into families and industry in Chorley.
B.H. |

1846. Primrose Cottage at the end of Moor Street. Chorley. |

The house at the end of Moor Street. |
. |